This is my first Sunday Salon post, smack dab in the middle of firsts for me this week! I read Create Your Own Blog: 6 Easy Projects to Start Blogging Like a Pro by Tris Hussey on Tuesday, created my blog on Wednesday, and published my very first post on Thursday! This has been an exciting week for me and I can’t wait for a bunch of firsts in this upcoming week!

In regards to reading, I read Hussey’s book in a quick 3-4 hours, scribbling down notes and gaining inspiration. I re-read it on Thursday before I wrote my first post and reviewed it on Friday. I highly recommend it for new bloggers, as well as experienced bloggers, as it has many useful tips and can be rather motivational.

On Thursday, I finished up The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, and have been debating ever since on whether or not I should review it. You see, I didn’t dislike the book. I just didn’t really care about it. I know there is something wrong when it takes me over a week to read a book that is less than 500 pages. I have a lot of free time to read, have no problem making time to read, but mostly I couldn’t be bothered with Atwood. I think it might have something to do with my not being too shocked by the culture within her created dystopia.  I never really feared much for the protagonist’s safety. For me, as a dystopian novel, The Handmaid’s Tale wasn’t as good as 1984 or even The Hunger Games— not in terms of story-telling. It was very well-written, however, and, had I read it in college, I would have loved to have written a critical analysis on its social commentary.

Currently, I am on the last few discs of the audiobook version of Stephen King’s Nightmares and Dreamscapes, which I will definitely review as soon as I’m finished (which should be by the end of the week). Also, I just started Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, which I am really enjoying so far. In terms of non-fiction, I am working through two books related to or about writing fiction—The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron and Plot & Structure by James Cameron Bell. I have been taking lots of notes while reading and working on the writing assignments within each books’ chapters. So far, both books have been extremely useful,  as I have been coming up with lots of story ideas. More on that in a future post…

This coming week marks the beginning of the Fall Reading Challenge from the Seasonal Reading Challenge group on GoodReads. I am very excited to begin and am really going to try hard to finish this challenge. I know I can do it!

Have you read any of these books? What is your opinion on The Handmaid’s Tale? Are you beginning a new reading challenge this week?

