Going back to work today, so I will complete a couple of memes and call it a day at the blog!

Book Blogger Hop is a weekend meme hosted by Crazy for Books in an effort to spur on connections between book bloggers. This week’s prompt asks:

“What are you most looking forward to this fall/autumn season – A particular book release?  Halloween?  The leaves changing color?  Cooler temperatures?  A vacation? (If your next season is other than fall/autumn, tell us about it and what you are most looking forward to in your part of the world!)”

Living in San Diego, I don’t get much in the way of season variety. For most of the year, it is 75 degrees, sunny, and dry. Yet, November (sometimes) brings promise of rain. I’m looking forward to rain! I grow rather sick of the sun, as I sunburn easy and it just gets predictable. I guess I might sound like a spoiled child to those who grow weary of rain, snow, and sleet, but there you have it. What I wouldn’t give for a good thunderstorm! I would have my nose pushed up against the window to see some lightning! Ah well.

I’m also looking forward to reading a lot of Stephen King and Shirley Jackson in October. I love horror and the Halloween season gives me a reason to indulge. Also, it will all count towards the R.I.P. challenge, over at Stainless Steel Droppings! I will also be tuning in to Stephen King’s special on TCM, The Horrors of Stephen King, as well as the premieres of the second season of The Walking Dead on AMC and The River on ABC. Then, of course, I’ll need to re-watch some of my all time favorite horror movies–The Omen, Rosemary’s Baby, etc.

Book Beginnings is a weekly meme hosted at A Few More Pages every Friday. Bloggers are to copy the first lines from the current book that they are reading and reflect upon it. I love the first lines of books, even having devoted a couple pages in my writing notebook to them. So, this is a meme for me!

It wasn’t a very likely place for disappearances, at least at first glance. Mrs. Baird’s was like a thousand other Highland bed-and-breakfast establishments in 1945; clean and quiet, with fading floral wallpaper, gleaming floors, and a coin-operated hot-water geyser in the library.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

This is a classic opening line with a bit of foreshadowing and sensory details to immediately show the setting. I am half-way through this novel and these two sentences definitely showcase Gabaldon’s tone and her mastery of making a scene come to life. Her description of the Highlands and the locales her protagonist visits are top notch. I’ve never been to Scotland, but Gabaldon sure makes me feel as if I have!

