I’m writing this post early, as I’m not sure what my day will be like tomorrow, where my head will be, on the 10th anniversary of 9-11.

This week, I finished two books, discovered some new blogs to read, and started my first week of school (and my new “get kids to read” project).

I finished Outlander on Sunday (finally) and really enjoyed it. I wrote a review on Monday, which details why I recommend the book and my counterargument to readers who disregard it as a “highlander hunk romance.”

A few hours ago, I finished The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender, and while it was the light read that I was looking for, I am troubled by it. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing in this case. I will muddle through my feelings on Bender’s magical realism novel and hopefully post a review on Monday.

I’m also planning to finish Nightmares and Dreamscapes today, and will review this audiobook sometime this week as well. This review, I’m fairly sure, will be pretty positive. This will also be my first entry for the R.I.P. Challenge. Woo-hoo! At least 3 more books to go!

I discovered some more new and interesting blogs this week! A few of these blogs are

  1. A Room of One’s Own: This blog has been nominated and shortlisted for Best Written Blog for Book Blogger Appreciation Week, and it’s easy to see why. I have enjoyed her recording of the life as a Lit. student, and the canonical literature she sets forth to read–both for school and for personal goals. This young lady writes about the issues I struggled with as an undergrad majoring in English. I love this blog, if not for the good writing, then for the reconnection with my 20-year-old self.
  2. Gone with the Words: This blog is very easy on the eyes. Not only are there lots of neat pages and images to check out, this blogger also tends to read a lot of books that I’m interested in, both for myself and my classroom. Check this one out if you’re into Young Adult, Paranormal Romance, and Urban Fantasy.
  3. Fangs, Wands & Fairy Dust:

ADULT TOPICS AND ISSUES ARE DISCUSSED…YOU MUST BE 18 OR OLDER TO READ OR FOLLOW THIS SITE

I guess if you regularly discuss episodes of True Blood and the Sookie Stackhouse series, you’ve gotta have an age limit and disclaimer on your blog. I love it! I haven’t yet shared that I’m a huge True Blood fan. It’s not the same as the books, and I think I’m glad about that. If you’re also a fan of all things Sookeh, you’ve gotta check out this blog. Unless, of course, you’re under 18.

So, I was thrilled this week to be back at school, particularly because I got to see my students from last year. Many of them popped by to inform me that they read during the summer, and one student recommended a few books to me. She is in the middle of Invisible I (The Amanda Project), and seems to really be enjoying it. She also finished Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, a book I gave to her on the last day of school. I guess I’ll have to check those books out.

I think that if I can create readers, and even reviewers, of books, I will have done my job well as an English teacher. Here’s to hoping I am as successful with this year’s crop of 7th graders as I was last year!

