Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s top ten list is “Top Ten Books I Read Because of Another Blogger“.

However, taking a cue from readerbuzz, I’m going to list the top ten books I read because of my mom. My reasoning is that I am a very new blogger, and while I have received a few recommendations from other bloggers, I haven’t yet read any of them. So, prior to the blogosphere, my mother was a major influence on my reading!

My mom was in college when I was young and was a major reader. Later, she worked in a library. Consequently, I was practically raised in a library, and she instilled a deep love of books within me. So, this list is in honor of her.

My mom recommended to me:

1. What Do People Do All Day by Richard Scarry

I loved scanning all of the pictures of this beat-up old book (I think it was my mom’s from when she was a child). It was, by far, my favorite children’s book, and still is!

2. The Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keene

This was the first series I read and one of teen Mom’s favorites.

3. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Mom loves Agatha Christie, and thanks to her, so do I!

4. The Sweet Valley High series by Francine Pascal

Oh Elizabeth. Oh Jessica. Oh you crazy twins and your crazy lives with Ned, Todd, Lila, and so forth. I loved these books so much I had the board game!

5. Sleepover Friends by Susan Saunders

So, I didn’t read The Babysitter’s Club. I read The Sleepover Friends. Maybe, simply because, this is the series my mom bought for me. I don’t know. What I do know is that red and black will always be my favorite colors for dress because of Stephanie (see her awesome sweater on the cover!).

6. Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

So, my mom showed the 1968 version of Romeo and Juliet to me when I was ten, and immediately I checked out the book from the library. I don’t think I understood all of the language at the time, but I understood enough, and it changed my life. I ended up taking every Shakespeare class that my university offered and changed my major from Civil Engineering to English. All because of Franco Zeffirelli’s film in 1990. Thanks Mom.

7. IT by Stephen King 

My mom let me watch the TV series of IT when it premiered, and I was hooked. So, I read IT when I was eleven, and continued on through Salem’s Lot, Cujo, The Stand, etc. through my teen years. For the first time, my mom and I were able to both contribute to book talks on books we both loved.

8. The Night of the Solstice by L.J. Smith

Every Christmas, my mom would buy me two books. This was one under the tree at 12 or 13. After this, I read ALL of Smith’s books, including the current, very popular series The Vampire Diaries  and The Secret Circle (both originally published in the early ’90s). I have always loved L.J. Smith, and this was her first novel.

9. Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton

This book was huge when I was 12 and I borrowed it from my mom!

10. On the Night of the Seventh Moon by Victoria Holt

I fell out of love with reading for a while in high school, but my mom was able to get me into the historical romance novels of Victoria Holt. These books totally spoke to the teen-aged-romantic in me.

Thanks Mom!

