Forgive me, I’m a little late…

Book Blogger Hop is a weekend meme hosted by Crazy for Books in an effort to spur on connections between book bloggers. This week’s prompt asks:

“As a book blogger, how do you introduce yourself in your profile?”

I only started blogging a few weeks ago, but before I started I knew how important a blogger’s profile was. When planning out my blog, I realized that whenever I read a blog for the first time, if I liked the posts, I immediately wanted to know more about the blogger. Oftentimes, I was thrilled to find that the prolific writer wasn’t so different from me! It was from the profiles I read that I knew I, too, could write a blog. Obviously, profiles are very important!

From the profiles I read and liked, I noticed that the best About Me pages included information on who the blogger was outside of the blog, what their interests were, and some information on what the blog was about overall. I also enjoyed profiles that included some background info on the blog’s title and/or layout. This is what I set out to imitate on my About page.

Since I created my profile page even before I wrote my first post, I wasn’t entirely sure what my blog would be about–just a vague notion of my hopes. I’m still not sure; I’m trying on new things all the time and reflecting on it about once a week. Probably, in a month or two, I will edit my About page to reflect what my blog’s purpose is. Also, if my interests change, and if I move (probably in a year), I will edit it to further reflect who I am.

Overall, I love reading profile pages, and I hope other bloggers realize just how useful (and inspiring!) a profile page can be.

Book Beginnings is a weekly meme hosted at A Few More Pages every Friday. Bloggers are to copy the first lines from the current book that they are reading and reflect upon it.

My name is Kathy H. I’m thirty-one years old, and I’ve been a carer now for eleven years. That sounds long enough, I know, but actually they want me to go on for another eight months, until the end of this year.

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

This is a nice in media res opening: It immediately introduces the reader to the first person narrative by protagonist Kathy H., and gives a bit of background information on her, but really establishes the Look Back style of narrative within this book. I’m about half-way through the novel and still have only the vaguest notion of what a carer does and what Kathy H.’s present life is like. So far, it’s intriguing, and the novel is slowly telling the story of Kathy H., from her childhood leading to the present time, which is hinted at in these opening lines. It’s very similar to the style Ishiguro used in The Remains of the Day, a “How did the character get here?” narrative. I am loving this book.

