What the heck is salmagundi? I had never heard of this word until I was brainstorming a title for a weekly post I plan on writing that doesn’t focus on books; a hodgepodge of items I was/am interested in this week that relates to my life outside of books. I wanted an alliterative title, so (I admit) I hit the thesaurus and found salmagundi under the listing for potpourri.

According to Dictionary.com, salmagundi is

1. a mixed dish consisting usually of cubed poultry or fish, chopped meat, anchovies, eggs, onions, oil, etc., often served as a salad.

2. any mixture or miscellany.
Further research showed that salmagundi is a time-honored dish in England (English readers, please forgive my American ignorance)–I found an old Elizabethan recipe for salmagundi along with some modern recipes. Salmagundi is perfect for my hodgepodge Saturday ramblings!
So begins my Salmagundi Saturday offering:

Lettuce grown literally down the street!

A bounty of plums!

Doing: Local Farmer’s Market–bought some lettuce (see picture), tomatoes, plums (see picture), carrots, celery leaves, garlic chives, and maitake mushrooms.
Watching: Check out this awesome commercial for a taxidermist:

Listening: My pandora radio station titled “Saved by the Bell Years”. It’s a radio station created that plays (mostly) tunes from the years of 1988-1992. A wonderful blast from the past. Some of my faves from today have been Richard Marx’s “Hold on to the Nights,” Belinda Carlisle’s “Heaven is a Place on Earth,” and “Alright” by Janet Jackson. Reminds me of Casey Kasem on childhood weekends…

