Although I’ve been AWOL from blogging for a little over a week, I have been getting a lot of reading done. I finished The Eyre Affair (look for a review on Thursday), and now that it’s October, I am ready to engorge myself on horror!

I have been saving this Fall’s horror choices for October and am excited to finally put all my efforts into the Readers Imbibing Peril (R.I.P.) challenge hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings. I plan to complete Peril the First (four books of R.I.P. literature), Peril of the Short Story, and continue adding to Peril on the Screen.

For Peril the First, I have already read Nightmares and Dreamscapes by Stephen King. Currently, I am reading Under the Dome, also by King, which is over a thousand pages long, so it might take me a while. I am also planning on reading Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived in the Castle, The House by Bentley Little, and The Blind Mirror by Christopher Pike (my favorite author in my pre-teen years). Other books I want to read for Peril the First are listed in full on my Challenges page.

For Peril of the Short Story, I plan on reading some H.P. Lovecraft and some more Shirley Jackson. I might also reread “Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been” by Joyce Carol Oates, as that story frightened me in college. I’m not sure if it would count for this task, but I also need to catch up on The Walking Dead graphic novels, which are definitely of the horror genre.

For Peril on the Screen, I will probably watch at least one horror movie a week. This last week, I watched Alien for the first time. Upcoming horror movies for me will probably include  The Descent and Rosemary’s Baby. In addition to movies, I’m going to continue watching my favorite horror television shows: Supernatural, The Walking Dead, and American Horror Story. Plus, I might fit in some of my silly horror favorites from the classic ’80s TV shows The Tales from the Darkside and Tales from the Crypt.

I love October because it gives me a reason to indulge my horror fetish. If you know of any really good horror authors who aren’t Stephen King, please give me recommendations! Also, if you know of any good horror movies that aren’t of the slasher genre (I like movies like The Exorcist, The Omen, and Poltergeist), again, please recommend them to me!

Are you planning to get into the spirit and read some horror this month?

