Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s top ten list is “Top Ten Books I Wish I Could Read Again For The First Time”.

I re-read lots of books, but some just don’t hold the same magic they did when I first read them. That makes me sad. Usually, this is because the magic was dependent upon a plot twist, the shocking moments you didn’t see coming. If you know they’re coming because you’ve already read it, it just doesn’t work the same. That doesn’t mean I won’t try though. The majority of these books have a set schedule for re-reading: usually ten years for me to forget the majority of the twists. The only one I have tried this method with is IT by Stephen King, as I read it first when I was 11, again at 22, and I think I am due again for another reading. I’m not sure that it will work this time though.

I love these books and wish I could go back in time and read them again for the first time!

1. IT, Salem’s Lot, The Shiningand The Stand by Stephen King

All are at or past their ten year mark. Time for a re-read!

2. The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

I loved this series, but it will be a while until I read them again. I hope I forget everything!

3. Jane Eyre  by Charlotte Bronte

Recently read, it’ll be a while…who am I kidding? I’ll probably need an annual dose of Rochester until I get sick of him!

4. Lullaby by Chuck Palahniuk

This book rocked my world when I read it six years ago. I think I have almost forgotten most of the plot twists. Almost ready!

5. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Unfortunately, I remember everything. Snape. Voldemort. Dumbledore. The Weasely brothers. Sadly, it will be a while before I pick these up again. : (

6. “The Lottery” by Shirley Jackson

There is no hope for this one. I re-read it every year with my students. At least I get to live vicariously through their shock and realization after their first reading of the perfect situational irony.

7. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

Like “The Lottery”, I teach this every year and so I know every plot twist. With this book, it’s not that I want to recreate the experience of one of my favorite stories with surprising plot twists. I am just so envious of my students who fall in love with books for the first time after I introduce The Outsiders to them. It’s the melancholy longing for one’s first childhood love.

8. The World According to Garp by John Irving

This was my first reading of an Irving novel and I had never read anything quite like it. I loved it; I loved the way my jaw dropped when I read it. I have only read one other Irving novel, so I hope his other books have the same effect on me.

9. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey

Love the movie. Love the book. Don’t think it’ll ever be the same as the first time though. I’ll give it a shot in a few years.

10. Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier

I was surprised by how much I loved this book. I couldn’t put it down! Unfortunately, I think the magic was based upon certain twists in the story that will definitely take at least ten years to forget. I’ll see you in a decade, Rebecca.

Do you have a method for your re-reads? A schedule like me?

