Yesterday, I indulged myself quite a bit on a book shopping trip! Originally inspired by a tweet by @BookPensieve (A Reader’s Pensieve), who had picked up a cheap copy of The Eyre Affair at a library sale in the morning, I set out to do some yard sale shopping! Unfortunately, there weren’t too many readers unloading their gently used paperbacks on their lawns, but I did score a copy of The Life of Pi by Yann Martel. This book was recommended to me by Priya at Tabula Rasa.

Well, I hadn’t satisfied my craving yet, so I jumped on the freeway to my favorite independent bookstore Mysterious Galaxy (click here for my description of this amazing store). Once there, I made a beeline to some of the fantasy and horror books at the top of my TBR list. My first grab was Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb. This new find soared to the top of my must-reads after a recommendation was given to me by a friend at a birthday party on Friday night. This is the same woman who, last year, had recommended the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin. She is certainly knowledgeable in the fantasy genre, and so when she recommended The Farseer Trilogy by Hobb and The Memory of Flames series by Stephen Deas, I knew I had to check them out!

Next, I really indulged myself with a hardback copy of the fantasy novel The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. I was supposed to read this back in September, but, at the time, I was still overwhelmed by all of the characters and sprawling locations of Outlander, so I returned it unread to the library. Now, I have my own copy with full-sized maps to boot! Score!

Then, I made it over to the horror section, which has been foremost in my focus this month. I picked up a copy of Horns by Joe Hill, as recommended by Amy at Lucy’s Football, and a hardback copy of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. The former is by one of my favorite authors on twitter (@joe_hill) and the latter has been on my TBR list ever since I saw the spectacularly creepy cover. I’m so excited! More books for the R.I.P. challenge!

So, I got my fix. I may be walking around in worn-out, scuffed flats and wearing bedraggled hair in desperate need of a trim, but at least I have my books! Who needs fashion when you have a hardback book with full-sized maps?!?

Are you like me? Compulsively buying books the way some women buy shoes or purses?

