Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s top ten list is “Top Ten Books I Bought/Read Because of the Cover”.

I rarely buy books based on the cover. Not because I don’t prejudge books–I do–I just usually base my reading choices upon other readers’ reviews and sometimes even if I liked a movie that the book was based off of. However, there have been a few cases of me buying or reading a book based off of its cover, and in those rare cases, I have usually strayed from my comfort zone. Most of the books I have bought and/or read based on the cover were outside of my preferred genre. It’s kind of surprising actually. Perhaps, what this says about my reading is that I prefer books that could never be judged by the cover. I’m not sure if that’s a leap, but it certainly makes me wonder. Anyways, here are the few books I bought or read based on the cover, few of which I would ever have read if not for the cover.

1. Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen

I’m so glad I found this book! It has added a new genre to my favorites (magical realism) and I am still attracted to the cover and the writing, which is just as lovely as the cover!

2. Girl With a Pearl Earring series by Tracy Chevalier

This is kind of a cheat as the art is by a Dutch master. The story was good, I enjoyed it, and I went off and saw the movie when it came out. I don’t really feel like raving about it though.

3. Twilight  by Stephenie Meyer

So, I read this before all of the Team Edward and Team Jacob rubbish related to the movies. I was a student teacher in an 8th grade classroom back in 2006 and was attracted to the cover of the book that was being passed around by all of my female students.

4. Miss Pettigrew Lives For a Day by Winifred Watson

A friend gave me a stack of her favorite books (actually, I think it was a loan but I still have them–oops!) and this one I chose to read first, based solely upon its lovely cover. I’m so glad I did- I read it all in one night. It was so good!

5. The World According to Garp by John Irving

The second book I chose from the loaner stack.

6. Miss Peregrine’s School for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

How creepy is this cover? I had to buy this one just for the pictures.

7. Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

I knew nothing of this book when I bought it at an airport. I was just mesmerized by the gorgeous cover. The story was lovely also.

8. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

It’s weird that there was a time when I didn’t have a TBR list. But, a lot of these books were grabbed when I had no idea what to read. This book was picked up at Borders in such a situation. I ended up crying a bit when reading this book, but I’ve forgotten why. I didn’t end up seeing the movie.

9. A Room With a View by E.M. Forster

I did always plan on reading this, but when I saw this beautiful cover at my local bookstore, I had to buy it on the spot! Actually, I always get suckered by the book covers at this store–I almost purchased Like Water for Chocolate as well, and this is the same store where I came upon Garden Spells.

10. Devil in Massachusetts by Marion Lena Starkey

This is the truest case of me buying a book based on the cover. I found this cover at a used bookstore and was so creeped out, I had to have it. I still haven’t read it, and I’m still not entirely sure what it’s about (the Salem witch trials, I think).

