Oh boy, I am sooo excited about Dewey’s Read-a-Thon tomorrow! I just got home from picking up food supplies after work–lots of green tea and lemonade, trail mix, chocolate, grapes, and asparagus to snack on. I’m also going to order a pizza tonight and will just eat leftovers tomorrow. No distractions from reading! I’m gonna do it. I’m going to read for 24 hours! The stars are aligned, I am meant to do this tomorrow. I will just sleep all day on Sunday. I can do it!

To help me with choosing books tomorrow, I am going to do my Friday meme of choice–Book Beginnings–on MOST of the potential reads for tomorrow. This should help me choose quickly when I finish We Have Always Lived in the Castle. So here are some of tomorrow’s potentials:

Book Beginnings is a weekly meme hosted at A Few More Pages every Friday. Bloggers are to copy the first lines from the current book that they are reading and reflect upon it.

Ignatius Martin Perrish spent the night drunk and doing terrible things. He woke the next morning with a headache, put his hands to his temples, and felt something unfamiliar, a pair of knobby protuberances.

Horns by Joe Hill

Intriguing…I could see myself flying through this one tomorrow. It might be better for nightfall though…I think I’ll definitely pick this one up.

My pen falters, then falls from my knuckly grip, leaving a worm’s trail of ink across Fedwren’s paper. I have spoiled another leaf of the fine stuff, in what I suspect is a futile endeavor. I wonder if I can write this history, or if on every page there will be some sneaking show of a bitterness thought long dead.

Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

So, this story seems to be told by a narrator as he is writing it. It sounds good, it just depends upon whether or not I’m interested in fantasy tomorrow. If I am, I might go with another potential choiceThe Name of the Wind

My name is Laura Palmer, and as of just three short minutes ago, I officially turned twelve years old! It is July 22, 1984, and I have had such a good day! You were the last gift I opened and I could hardly wait to come upstairs and start to tell you all about myself and my family. You shall be the one I confide in the most. I promise to tell you everything that happens, everything I feel, everything I desire. And, every single thing I think. There are some things I can’t tell anyone. I promise to tell these things to you.

The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer by Jennifer Lynch

Oh, Laura Palmer, I love you. And I miss you and your little f-ed up town of Twin Peaks. Laura definitely tells all in this book, as it follows her from 12 until her death at 17 or 18. There are some disturbing events in this book with creepy Bob (still the scariest man I have ever seen on network television) and her screwed-up father. Obviously, I have read this before, but I am eager to read it again. Will probably do so tomorrow.

I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen. The first of these came as a terrible shock and, like anything that changes you forever, split my life into halves: Before and After. Like many of the extraordinary things to come, it involved my grandfather Abraham Portman.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

There is no way that I’m not reading this book tomorrow. The whole text seems “extraordinary”. My curiosity is killing me- I have to read this book! This will probably be the first choice.

Are any of you participating in the Read-a-Thon? I wanna know!!

