Hour 24 End of the Event Meme

  • Which hour was most daunting for you? 24–without a doubt. I am so done!
  • Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Horror, Mystery, or suspense. Agatha Christie was good.
  • Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Make sure the links for mini-challenges work!
  • What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The mini-challenges were very creative!
  • How many books did you read? 4
  • What were the names of the books you read? We Have Always Lived in the Castle, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, And Then There Were None, Horns
  • Which book did you enjoy most? Overall, probably And Then There Were None
  • Which did you enjoy least? Miss Peregrine’s School for Peculiar Children
  • If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
  • How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very likely–as a reader again!

Hour 19: Pets

1.)  Leave a minimum of  two sentences and max of 2
paragraphs of  how your pets have helped or hindered your reading.
Do they
cuddle up to you and keep you warm while you read? Or are they like my family’s
dog Cleo and like to shove their favorite plush toy at your knee until you put
that book down and play with them? (and then have to give them a treat for
playing. Yes, I am a sucker!) The second  is to share a picture of your pet with
us.

My two cats, Lizzy and Mania, do both. They keep me warm and cozy while reading by laying at my feet. They spread an air of contentment for reading, and reading is never quite as enjoyable when they’re not  around. However, they also enjoy scratching their chins and ears by rubbing against whatever book I am reading, usually against the pages left to read. Sometimes, they go as far as attempting to lay atop the book if it’s set down in front of me while I read! Give me attention! Love me! Love me! They’re good kitties! Here’s where they are laying right now while I read, the red velvet loveseat opposite me:

Hour 17: “Can You Sing?”

Here’s the challenge: represent yourself, your country, or your people (whoever they may be) with one song.

This song is dedicated to the many hipsters who live in my neighborhood whom will be walking past my house drunk, loud, and annoying as I am reading at 2 a.m. tonight/this morning. While I am friends with many hipsters, I am very bugged by the obnoxious banter that wakes me in the wee hours every Saturday night. I live in a hipster neighborhood, thus they are indeed my people as I am always surrounded by them. Enjoy the snark of “Admit It” by Say Anything…I always do when I’m feeling feisty.

Hour 16: Rereading

1. Go back to your blog, and tell us about a book you’re rereading during the read-a-thon.  Maybe post a picture of the book and describe why you love it enough to reread it.

I am rereading The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer by Jennifer Lynch. I love this book because I love Twin Peaks (have re-watched that series twice after watching it way back when it premiered in the early ’90s ). Also, it’s one of my R.I.P. challenge books and will be extra creepy to read around midnight when I should be done with Horns. It’s a very creepy book, and it might be the book I have most looked forward to reading today.

Hour 14: Feed Me Seymour

For this mini-challenge, we’re going to keep our bellies happy for the long haul. So go on . . . stand up, head into the kitchen, and rustle up something delicious. Then come back and tell us what you put down your hatch.

Last night, I thought ahead and ordered pizza: Half sausage and mushroom, half feta cheese and garlic. I ate a quarter of it last night, and heated up a few slices tonight for dinner. I might eat more in a few hours too if I need a pick-me-up.

Hour 13: Mid-Event Survey

1. What are you reading right now? Horns by Joe Hill
2. How many books have you read so far? 3
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer–will probably be reading this when the house gets really creepy in the wee hours of the night. That’s my strategy for staying up all night–scaring myself!
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? By a simple twist of fate, I had no obligations and my husband’s out of town. The whole house is mine to read in uninterrupted.
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? I could say these mini-challenges are interruptions, but I think they are keeping me alert! So, no! I just stop every 3 hours to complete a mini-challenge or two then get back to reading!
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? My eyes got tired pretty quick! I rarely have to wear my glasses outside of nighttime driving or in a movie theater, but by the fourth hour I had to put my glasses on!
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Better advertising and announcement of April read-a-thon date ASAP.
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? Not sure yet, because everything is going perfectly right now!
9. Are you getting tired yet? My brain was pretty mushy a while ago, but I’m feeling better now! Will drink my second round of coffee in a few hours.
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? When reading, write down notes and reading reflections on post-its throughout your book. That way, when you want to write a review you’ll have quick notes ready, as all of the books you read today will probably all blend together by tomorrow!

Hour 12: Hodge-Podge Proposals

Here’s what you must do to participate in the Hodge-Podge Proposals
Mini-Challenge. First, grab a pen and paper, open up a text file, or fire up
your memory and list:

  1. The first name of any character in the book you’re currently reading (or
    just finished)
  2. The make or model of your current car, whichever you like better (if you
    don’t have a car, use one you’ve had or would like to have)
  3. A job you think would be especially fascinating

Numbers 1 and 2 become the first and last name of your new character, and 3 is
his or her occupation. Now briefly pitch me a new series in the genre of your
choice based on this hodge-podge character!

Alright, here goes! Philip Liberty, a research librarian at Cambridge, has always been content with his life–sure, he works late hours behind the desk, but he has always enjoyed helping others find their sources. Then, one night, in the wee hours, he comes across a body in the Social Sciences stacks, runes marked in blood across the bare torso. Soon, more bodies turn up with runic symbols. Could some sort of otherworldly force be lurking within the confines of the library? Or has some sleep-deprived grad student finally lost their marbles? Philip Liberty might be just the one to find out as he uses his research abilities and boundless source of books to uncover the menace at Cambridge Library!

That’s all I’ve got–my brain is still mushy from reading!

Hour 11: Book Trailer Mini-Challenge

For this mini-challenge, take a short break and share a book trailer with us. It could be your favorite book trailer, it can be a trailer of your favorite book, or it can be a trailer for a book you want to read.

Coraline by Neil Gaiman (click link to see trailer)

I love Neil Gaiman, and here he discusses “the fear of buttons” and how it relates to his book Coraline. I actually know someone who is afraid of buttons.

Hour 10: My Perfect Anthology

To enter this mini- challenge you have to leave a comment telling me which authors you’d like to see together in an anthology and create a theme for the book! Creating a name for it is totally optional!

I would like to read an anthology that focuses upon strong female characters of varying styles of strength! It would include selections from Pride and Prejudice (Elizabeth Bennett), All Together Dead (Sookie Stackhouse at her strongest), Jane Eyre (duh), Wuthering Heights (Catherine Earnshaw), Much Ado About Nothing (Beatrice), Great Expectations (Estella), IT (Beverly), A Storm of Swords (Arya), and Return of the King (Eowyn). It could be titled Literary Women Who Kick Ass!

Hour 9: Book Sentence Challenge

This is a simple challenge, using the books you have in your home (sorry, e-books do not count during this challenge) make a complete sentence out of the book titles.  Take a picture and either upload to your blog, facebook, or twitter account.  You must use at least 3 books and use ONLY the titles.  It doesn’t have to make perfect sense, but in order to make it fun and challenging you can’t add words.

 Pay me in flesh, far from the madding crowd, on the beach.

Hour 8: A Music Bath

Take a music bath once or twice a week for a few seasons. You will find it is to the soul what a water bath is to the body.

That, awesome readers, is my challenge for you: take a short (short!) break from the novel you’re currently savouring and think of these questions:

  1. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?
  2. What song does my favorite book remind me of?
  3. Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like?

1. I’m about to start reading And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie, and since I’ve read it before (a long, long time ago), I know what it’s about. I’d say it reminds me of “Murder by Numbers” by The Police. I guess simply by the title not necessarily the instructions provided in the song. My brain is addled so I hope you understand my meaning.

2. I’m not sure what my favorite book is, but I’ll pick a favorite book: Pride and Prejudice. Let’s see, hmmm…this is hard. Pride and Prejudice reminds me of “Sometimes Always” by The Jesus and Mary Chain. I’m not sure why. I guess because it’s full of back and forth griping between a man and a woman only to end in love. Or something. I don’t know, I always loved this song, mainly because it seemed an honest depiction of true love. If Elizabeth Bennet sang, she might sound like Mazzy Star. Here’s a video of the song:

3. Sure. One of my favorite songs is “Love Will Tear Us Apart” by Joy Division. This song always sounded to me as if it was in iambic pentameter. That’s why it sounds so good! And the title can obviously be thematically linked with Romeo and Juliet. Here’s another video of the lyrics with the song to share:

Hour 6: Top 5 Books I’m looking Forward To

Top 5: What are the 5 books you are looking forward to in the next few months or really into next year.

1. Divergent by Veronica Roth–It’s been out for a while, and I’ve heard so much good about it, that I can’t wait to read it. Have to wait for R.I.P. challenge to be done first!

2. Insurgent by Veronica Roth–Then I can read the next book in 2012

3. Strange Fate by L.J. Smith—who knows when this will come out, but since she’s apparently done with The Vampire Diaries, I can’t see why it can’t be next year!

4. Title Unknown by Sarah Addison Allen–Allen has been fighting breast cancer for the better part of a year now, so it might not come at the same time as usual, but usually she releases a book per year.

5. Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris–I haven’t been thrilled with the last two books, but of course I have to see what happens next!

Hour 5: Share a Book

To enter our mini-challenge just tell us your favorite
way to share a book – brief description, picture, poem or even a link to a
previous blog post – anything that expresses how you share your love of reading.

I have always shared my books via conversation–usually a description with the best features of a book emphasized. I try really hard to avoid spoilers. Lately, my favorite way to share a book is also via my blog and twitter. Sometimes, I post about books on Facebook as well. Oh, and I can’t forget my classroom–that’s a huge part of my job as an English teacher! I regularly share books with my students via whole-class and individual recommendations!

Hour 3:  Book Puzzle

For this challenge, you will be
creating a Book Puzzle.  Essentially, this is a series of pictures, graphics, or
photos that you put together that will describe a book title.

Here is one of my TBR titles for today:

Hour 2:  Character Photo Mini Challenge

My challenge for you is to take a photo of something that represents a character in one of the books you are reading for the readathon.

In We Have Always Lived in the Castle Merricat’s most prized possession/person is her sister Constance. This reminds me of my sister and me, so this is a photo of us as little girls–I was always very protective of her on carnival rides (and anywhere really).

Hour 1:  Let’s Get This Party Started!

1)Where are you reading from today?

San Diego, California
2)Three random facts about me…

1. I like really bad movies.
2. I hate showers (they are boring and monotonous…prefer baths where I can read or something).
3. I hate talking on the phone.

3)How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours?

10 (unless I’m struck with a new mood and grab something from my bookshelf.)
4)Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?

Just to make it through the entire 24 hours. I’ve GOT to see if I can do it!!!
5)If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time?

I’m a novice—my first official read-a-thon

