It’s long overdue, but being that it’s Halloween, I think that I should spend a bit of time on my love for horror television right now. With last night’s zombie fix, I now have three horror shows that I am religiously watching and I can’t wait for the next episodes.

Image Credit: FX.com

American Horror Story – FX

(Wednesday nights at 10 pm) American Horror Story stars Dylan McDermott, Connie Britton, and Jessica Lange and is essentially one part ghost story and one part psycho-sexual horror story. It is all parts intriguing. It has aired four episodes, and so far it tells the horrific history of the house as well as the story of a Boston family who has moved into the house after serious domestic issues threatened to tear them apart. In the first episode, viewers were introduced to a bevy of characters including the philandering husband trying to make a new start, a psychologically wounded wife dealing with the pain from a past miscarriage and insecurities related to her husband’s infidelities, and their daughter, an angsty lass who gets in fights with the popular girls at school over her smoking habit and has no respect for either of her parents. We also meet the family’s nosy neighbors- a bitchy aging beauty (played by Lange) and her precocious daughter who has a way of getting into the house and telling its occupants “You’re gonna die in there!”. There’s a slutty/geriatric red-headed maid and a young man with psychotic leanings who is obsessed with the emo daughter. Oh, there’s also a gimp in a black leather suit that lurks around the house. Lots of good characters! And after the first couple of episodes,  it is apparent that some of these characters are actually dead.

I highly recommend this show for horror fans, particularly those who like movies like The Shining and TV shows like Twin Peaks. Definitely some weird stuff going on!

Image Credit: AMC.com

The Walking Dead – AMC

(Sunday nights at 9 pm) The Walking Dead stars Andrew Lincoln, John Bernthal, and Sarah Wayne Callies and is directed by Frank Darabont (The Shawshank Redemption and The Mist). This show has only aired 3 episodes of its second season, and is already proving to be as riveting as the first season. The acting in the show is excellent, as is the writing and directing. It’s not so much a zombie show as a survival show–it forces the viewer to ponder questions such as “How far would you go to survive?”, “What moral rules still stand in a world of chaos and brutality?”, and “Is it even worth trying to survive in a world inhabited by zombies?”. It’s an amazing show and keeps viewers on the edge of their seats. I highly recommend it for fans of horror and for fans of dystopias–this is a very messed up world that the gang of survivors live in, so tune in to see how they make sense of it.

Image Credit: CW.com

Supernatural – CW

(Friday nights at 9 pm) Supernatural stars Jensen Ackles and Jared Padalecki as Dean and Sam Winchester, or as I like to call them, the Winchester boys! I love this show! I love it! These two guys hunt down supernatural bad guys such as demons, rogue angels, vampires, witches, gods, Satan, and so forth. I seem to learn a new piece of supernatural folklore with every episode and I appreciate it. This show can be very funny and very melodramatic. It’s well-written and the chemistry between Ackles and Padalecki is undeniable and is truly what makes the show work. I fully believe they are brothers and that they care about each other and drive each other nuts. Despite a few complaints from other viewers, I believe this, the seventh season of the show, is just as solid as any past seasons. Eventually, I hope to own all 7 seasons in my personal video collection so that I can re-watch them all over again. I recommend this show highly to anyone, although if you’ve never watched it, you’ve got a lot of catching up to do!

I missed the premieres of Once Upon a Time and Grimm…did you catch them? If so, would you recommend these shows?

By the way, this is my last entry for the R.I.P. challenge- Peril on the Screen. Happy Halloween!

