I love the canon! Surprisingly, I have yet to read and review a classic on my blog. But, if you look at my banner, you’ll see a few classics in there…I’m actually a huge classics fan! I try to read one every month or so…I actually crave them. Right now, I am eager to finish my current fantasy book The Name of the Wind just so I can move on to a classic. It’s an addiction I’ve had pretty much my whole life! As a child, I read children’s classics occasionally (Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, Mary Poppins, The Little Princess, The Secret Garden) and classics for fun as a pre-teen (Romeo and Juliet) and enjoyed all of the classics assigned in school as a teen (unfortunately, there weren’t many!). Then, not surprisingly, I majored in English in college after falling in love with a Shakespeare class. Throughout my studies, I pretty much specialized in pre-19th century British literature, particularly Shakespeare. Also, my foreign language in high school and college was Latin, where I got to read Caesar, Cicero, Catullus, and Horace in their original language (stultus magister (stupid teacher) were always my favorite words).

So, I’m pretty eager to announce that I will take part in the Back to the Classics challenge in 2012. This challenge is hosted by Sarah Reads Too Much and will begin on January 1.

The tasks are: Read

  • Any 19th Century Classic
  • Any 20th Century Classic
  • Reread a classic of your choice
  • A Classic Play
  • Classic Mystery/Horror/Crime Fiction
  • Classic Romance
  • Read a Classic that has been translated from its original language to your languange  – To clarify, if your native language is NOT English, you may read any classic originally written in English that has been translated into your native language.
  • Classic Award Winner – To clarify, the book should be a classic
    which has won any established literary award.
  • Read a Classic set in a Country that you (realistically speaking) will not visit during your lifetime – To Clarify, this does not have to be a country that you hope to visit either.  Countries that no longer exist or have never existed count.

I’m not sure what I’ll read for this challenge yet, but since it’s a month or so away, I have some time. Definitely some Shakespeare (still haven’t read all of his histories), Homer, and maybe re-read The Age of Innocence for the Classic Award Winner. I don’t know…I’ll probably read by mood and/or consult my Harold Bloom books–he’s certainly the expert on the Western Canon!

Are you planning on partaking in this challenge? Any other challenges you plan on participating in?

