I’ve been a good reader for a long time. The library has always been my favorite place to be ever since my mom started dropping my sister and I off in the children’s section. Most of these books were discovered at my local library at the time.

Here are the top ten books that were my childhood favorites:

The Phantom Tollbooth

1. The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

This was an amazing book! I don’t even know how to describe it. With all of the math and language word play, I felt as if Neverland was mashed up with the lessons I learned in my grade school classes. I learned the word “Doldrums” from this book, and to this day, when I hear the word, I picture sleeping dogs!

Choose Your Own Adventure

2. The Choose Your Own Adventure series by Various

These books were so quick to read, that often I would go back to the beginning repeatedly to choose all of the different adventures at least once. I learned quickly to not ask my mom to buy these books, but rather I checked them out from the library or my teachers. They just weren’t worth the cost because I flew through them!

Nancy Drew

3. The Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keene

I never could solve the mystery before Nancy!

Sleepover Friends

4. The Sleepover Friends series by Susan Saunders

I wasn’t into babysitting. I was into sleepovers!

Scary Stories to tell in the Dark

5. Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz

These are still some of the creepiest stories that I’ve ever read! Timeless too, as I can’t keep them on the shelves in my classroom!

Mysteries of the Unknown

6. Time Life Mysteries of the Unknown series by George Constable (editor)

I was obsessed with these books, thanks to the eye-catching commercial! Check it out below!

Grimm's fairy talesfairy tales by hans christian andersen

7. Fairy Tales by the Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen

I loved all fairy tales, and would often reread these! How lucky I felt in college when I realized that I could study these for college credit!

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

8. The Narnia series by C.S. Lewis

My first foray into fantasy. I had a crush on Edmund.

MatildaThe Witches

9. Matilda, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The Witches, etc. by Roald Dahl

The best books written for children. Period.

Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing

10. Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume

I read the whole series and always cracked up at the hijinx that Fudge got into. Who names their kid Fudge? Gwyneth maybe?

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

