30 days without Admin breathing down my neck.

30 days without Greek and Latin roots, prepositions, thesis statements, and plot maps.

30 days without cooling down emotional, erratic, and hormonal 12-year-olds.

30 days without listening to teachers complain about Admin./teachers/students/whatever.

30 days to DO WHAT I WANT!

Many of my readers know that I am an English teacher. What many of you don’t know is that I am a teacher at a year-round middle school. What that means is that I teach for about nine months in the year with about a month off every three months or so. And, today begins my first day of my first month of vacation for the 2011-2012 school year! Yippee!

Now, for those of you who think “Wow, teachers have it made! They only work for 9-10 months and get paid vacations. Why do I hear so many teachers complain?” just know that we never really stop working. And, we DON’T get paid for these vacation months.

I will be working on my curriculum for the new year over vacation, doing things I never have time for during the school year, and I will be called in to work with my peers on two days in January for test writing and lesson planning.

Also, here’s a little known fact about teachers for all the naysayers- teachers get paid for 10 months of work! Essentially, teachers are laid off for two months a year! You may elect to get your pay stretched out into the 12 months, but essentially, the pay we receive is only for the months we work. So, there naysayers! Sometimes, I think I should write a second blog on teaching just to dispel this and other myths about teaching!

Anyways, back to the good stuff.

With my vacation, Dec.17-Jan. 16, I plan on accomplishing a goal or two, which is what I always do with my vacations. I don’t really set resolutions on January 1. I set them on Day 1 of vacations so that I may devote all of my time and energy into making habits. On my last vacation, in August of this year, my goal was to start writing. I started journaling every day, completing writing exercises, and towards the end of the vacation, I created this blog. This is the only habit that stuck, but it’s a good habit, and I might return to my daily journaling on this vacation as well.

My goals for this vacation are as follows:

Divergent by Veronica Roth1. Finish five books by January 1st so that I might meet my goal of 100 books in 2011.

2. Read at least two books a week until vacation is over.

3. Go backpacking/camping with my husband at least once.Backpacking in San Diego

4. Start and stick to an exercise regimen (jogging a mile or two, 3 times a week).

5. Improve my eating habits.

6. Write a blog post at least six times per week.

7. Clean the house completely!

8. Big Goal: Not sure yet. (Past Big Goals: Create a blog; Camping for the first time; Swim in the Ocean; Run a 5K; Read 30 books in a month) I’ll figure it out probably in a few days.

What this means here: You’re going to see a whole lot from me–more reviews and more ramblings! I’m hoping to get more involved in the blogoshere and twitterverse this month. Maybe that will be my Big Goal. We shall see, but it’s gonna be a great 30 days!

