Sunday SalonSo, Christmas is truly here now. As I posted yesterday, I am officially on vacation from work for the next month, and so this week is when I really get into Christmas gear. I’m baking cookies, wrapping presents, buying last minute presents…And, as I do every year, I will drive up to Northern California to spend a week with my family.

5 Freeway North

Image Credit: Pop Life Unlimited

On Tuesday, my sister and I will pack up her car and jump on the 5 freeway, heading north to Sacramento. It’s a 500+ mile trip and takes 7-8 hours to drive (depending, of course, upon LA traffic. Everything depends upon LA traffic!). Then, on Thursday night, my husband and her husband will jump into our car and drive the 7-8 hours in the middle of the night, and will spend the weekend with us at my mom’s house.

Here’s some details of how the week will likely play out:

Tuesday: Erika and I will drive the 5, singing at the top of our lungs the whole way, with a bit of sisterly talk thrown in (anticipations of the week, married life, teaching life, etc.). We (hopefully) will sing some of our oldest hits (I’m especially hopeful for some of our silly Disney renditions where we sing our chosen (ages ago!) parts, and maybe even “Hunger Strike” by Temple of the Dog where I get to be Chris Cornell and she gets to be Eddie Vedder. That’s an oldie but a goodie from our many high school family road trips. Maybe we’ll get in some hijinks along the way on our trip, as usually something dramatic happens.

Wednesday: We’ll lounge around the house, maybe sneak in any last minute Christmas shopping. Hopefully, I can get Erika to drive us to Vacaville, sort of our home town. Trip down memory lane! Mom will get home from work and we’ll eat dinner and hang out with her and catch up, maybe watch a movie.

Thursday: Apparently, we have a date with my dad at some point on this day. We’ll see how that goes… Hubbies will get in around 2 or 3 in the morning.

Friday: Hang out with the husbands at home, again lounging as the boys will probably be exhausted from their drive and will need some good old R&R. Hang out with Mom in the evening.

Saturday: Christmas Eve day! Check out this post to see our Christmas traditions on Christmas Eve. Check out this post to see what the bookish gifts are that I’m giving to my family!

Sunday: Christmas Day–Ever since my parents’ divorce, our new Christmas tradition is that we go to our Dad’s house in the East Bay. We spend the afternoon watching a movie or playing a game, go to dinner at our favorite Japanese restaurant, and then come back to his house and open the ungodly amount of presents he has purchased for us. Then we drive an hour back to Sacramento, very tired, and unload all of our Christmas presents into the house (One year we didn’t do this, and our car was broken into and all of our presents were stolen! We won’t make that dumb choice again!). Then we go to bed.

Monday: Load the cars back up and drive home to San Diego.

So, there’s my week in advance! During that time, there WILL still be regular posts here on the blog. I am spending today drafting and scheduling all of this week’s posts. I will also write at least two posts from my mom’s house and will still be active on the blogosphere and Twitter. Here are this week’s planned posts:

Monday: Review of 11/22/63 by Stephen King

Tuesday: Top Ten Books I hope Santa Brings

Wednesday: This Week’s Reading (WWW)

Thursday: Review of Divergent by Veronica Roth (ideally)

Friday: Book Beginnings

Saturday: Check-In From Sacramento

Sunday: 2011 in Review

Monday: Top Non-Fiction/Memoirs Read This Year

It should also be noted that I’m hoping to be reading at least before bedtime every day on my trip, if I can’t sneak in any other reading time.

Well, I hope you all have a wonderful holiday week! I’ll be checking in with you all on Twitter, here on my blog, and commenting on your blogs! Have a safe and happy holiday!

