This year, I asked for a whole lot of books for Christmas! Mainly, I’m trying to get books for all of the 2012 reading challenges I’ve signed up for. But, there are a few in here that are just for fun, and a few items here are not books, but are bookish! So, here is a list of books I want, and if they pertain to a challenge, I will list the assigned challenge.

The Wise Man's Fear

1. The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

Not yet assigned to a challenge, but surely can fit some task. Mainly, I just want to continue the series as I read The Name of the Wind in November.

The Iliad

2. The Iliad by Homer

This book goes towards both A Classics Challenge and the Back to the Classics challenge. I love The Odyssey, so I know I’ll enjoy this one!

A Visit From the Goon Squad

3. A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

This book goes towards the Award-Winning Challenge, Pullitzer category. Heard a lot of mixed reviews on this one, so I’m looking forward to it!

4. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon

This book also goes towards the Award-Winning Challenge, Pullitzer category. I’ve been meaning to read it for years and am definitely eager to check it out.

Endgame

5. Endgame by Samuel Beckett

For the Back to the Classics challenge and Award-Winning Challenge, Nobel category. I read (and loved) Waiting for Godot in college. Hope I like this one just as much!

The Sound and the Fury

6. The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner

Also for the Back to the Classics challenge and Award-Winning Challenge, Nobel category, as well as A Classics Challenge. My past experience with Faulkner hasn’t gone well, but I’m willing to give it the old college try (minus the Cliff’s Notes I used when I read Faulkner in high school and college).

The Forsyte Saga

7. The Forsyte Saga by John Galsworthy

One more book that satisfies all three challenges: Back to the Classics Challenge, A Classics Challenge, and Award-Winning Challenge, Nobel category. Am most looking forward to this one as I loved the miniseries and started reading it once and liked what I read!

8. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (audio, narrated by Wil Wheaton)

Not for a challenge, just really want to read this book! But, it has to be the audio version, because I want to hear Wil Wheaton read it!

Bookish Gifts:

9. Amazon Gift Card

So, I can buy any books that I really need RIGHT NOW in 2012 for my Kindle app.

10. Jane Eyre dvd and Harry Potter Box Set

Love the books, love these movies. Both are MUST HAVES! If I don’t get them under the Christmas tree, I will definitely buy them myself!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

