As I’ve said before, I’m a mood reader, and so I really only read what I’m in the mood for. I am also a cowardly reader- I try to only read books that I am pretty sure will be good. There are too many good books out there for me to risk my time on a bad book. Thus, I am always skeptical of sequels. Here is a list of the books that I will surely read in 2012, though a few make me antsy in my pantsies.

The books that I’m skeptically eager for…

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

1. Insurgent by Veronica Roth

I really enjoyed Divergent, yet I won’t be lining up at the bookstore to buy my copy of this. I am curious to read what happens next though. I’ll probably pre-order a copy of this, and then read it whenever I’m in the mood for YA.

Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

2. Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

Argh! I’ve been reading this series for the last couple of years, and the last two books have seriously been subpar in my opinion! Yet, I love Harris’s writing (especially when she’s good) and I love Sookie (in the books–hate her on the TV show!), and I must see it come to its conclusion. So, as always, I will pre-order this book and read it in the late spring!

3. The Soul by Stephenie Meyer

I really did enjoy Meyer’s The Host. Now I am hearing that she might be publishing a sequel in 2012. If so,  I am curious to see how this plays out. I can’t really even remember the ending of the last one–I think it was a feel good one, where everybody wins. But, I did like The Host and I thought it was very clever–Invasion of the Body Snatchers through the viewpoint of the body snatchers. This one makes me very curious!

And the books that I know I will love…

the hobbit

4. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

I saw the trailer for Peter Jackson’s upcoming movie, I saw that wonderful gaggle of dwarves…I have to re-read this book! I can’t wait! However, I want to find a really beautiful copy. I want to read a hardcover copy with pictures. So, I will have to wait until I find just the right copy!

5. The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R. Tolkien

After The Hobbit, I have to continue on! Plus, I haven’t read this since the first time–ten years ago! It’s definitely overdue! Again, I want to read a really nice hardcover copy of it though.

6. The Dark Tower series by Stephen King

At the conclusion of my reading of  11/22/63, and finding all sorts of connections between it and the Dark Tower, I decided it was time to reread these books! Also, it’s time to reread these books because, in March, there is the release of…

Dark Tower 4.5

7. The Wind through the Keyhole by Stephen King

Book 4.5 of the Dark Tower series–I can’t wait to see the ka-tet again!

8. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (audio, read by Wil Wheaton)

I am chomping at the bit to read/hear this one! However, I have been waiting because I only want the audiobook, and I’m not sure if I want to join Audible or not. It does sound like a good deal, but still, I don’t usually like audiobooks. Anyways, this one has to be audio, so I will have to solve this inner problem soon!

The Wise Man's Fear

9. The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

I’m eager to see what happens next to Kvothe in the second entry to his story. I will be reading this one very soon, I hope!

The Forsyte Saga

10. The Forsyte Saga by John Galsworthy

This is the classic that I’m most looking forward to this year! It’s high drama, and will go well with the return of Downton Abbey next week!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

