Booking Through Thursday

I’ve been hard at work, writing difficult reviews and researching Dickens for a profile post, so I thought that I would take it easy on the blog today and submit my answers to the interview questions presented at Booking through Thursday. It was a fun meme, and I encourage you all to participate! Here are my answers:

1. What’s your favorite time of day to read?

My favorite time to read is afternoon to evening. This is when I allow myself to simply be and do as I please. No concerns for getting work done, running errands, or cooking. My favorite time of day.

2. Do you read during breakfast? (Assuming you eat breakfast.)

Yes, though I’m not reading books often at this time, as I am usually at work when I eat breakfast. I spend breakfast reading student essays or texts to be taught in class. Pleasure reading during breakfast only occurs on the weekend!

3. What’s your favorite breakfast food? (Noting that breakfast foods can be eaten any time of day.)

Pigs in a Blanket, served at a little diner my husband and I eat at occasionally. It’s scrambled eggs and sausage rolled up in a pancake. All of my favorite breakfast foods rolled into one–genius!

4. How many hours a day would you say you read?

On vacation (which I am still on), I read somewhere between 10-11 hours. During the normal working year, I read anywhere between 2-7 hours.

5. Do you read more or less now than you did, say, 10 years ago?

I am reading more than ever! Actually, I might have read nearly as much as a tween, but with parental restrictions on my daily habits (“You should go outside and be with your friends, Mandy!” or “Turn out that light and go to bed!”), I doubt that I read more than 3 hours a day. Although, I think I did get a lot of secret reading in at school, so I’ll say that I am probably reading as much as I did when I was 11-13.

6. Do you consider yourself a speed reader?

Yes and no. I do read relatively fast, but only as the book dictates. I tend to pick up speed as I move through the book, picking up momentum as I gain familiarity with the plot and style. So, it depends upon the book and at which point in the book I am.

7. If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

The ability to fly–that’s a recurrent power I have in my dreams, and I really enjoy the experience!

8. Do you carry a book with you everywhere you go?

No–only if I plan on being somewhere for a while. I have to have a certain kind of environment when I read, and if I don’t have it, my comprehension suffers, so it’s a waste of time.

9. What KIND of book?

But, if I do bring a book with me, it doesn’t matter what kind. Usually it’s simply whatever my current read is. Last night, I took Bleak House with me and read while I waited for my takeout order. It was pretty much a fail as I had to re-read everything once I got home. As mentioned in the previous answer, the noisy restaurant wasn’t an ideal reading spot and my comprehension suffered.

10. How old were you when you got your first library card?

I was five or six, and I remember the day. It was a children’s library event at the local library in Tucson, and there were balloons and lots of other children, and I received some stickers that featured a cute green reading frog. It must have been really exciting to leave such an imprint on my memory.

Antique Shakespeare and Frankenstein and Grapes of Wrath

My Antique Library: 19th Century Shakespeare, Frankenstein (1902), The Grapes of Wrath (1939)

11. What’s the oldest book you have in your collection? (Oldest physical copy? Longest in the collection? Oldest copyright?)

The oldest physical copy: The Dramatic Works of William Shakspeare (seven volumes), printed in 1815!

Longest in the Collection: What Do People Do All Day? by Richard Scarry (been in my family since the late ’60s).

Oldest Copyright: The Epic of Gilgamesh (pre-copyright, obviously, as it is the oldest written story on Earth, written on tablets, some time between 2750 and 2500 BC)

12. Do you read in bed?

Yes, although my preferred spot is on the couch. I fall asleep quickly in bed, and use reading in bed as a tool to fall asleep–it’s not reading for reading’s sake, but reading for sleeping’s sake.

13. Do you write in your books?

I write on Post-Its in my books. I don’t think I’ll ever write in my books again!

14. If you had one piece of advice to a new reader, what would it be?

Start with what you know you love. If you love a movie based on a book, read the book. If you loved a movie not based on a book, read a book similar in genre and/or themes. If you love history, read a nonfiction book delving in a favorite era. If you love reptiles, and so on… Start with what you love and go from there!

Booking through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

