The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed.

This opening line is as resonating to me, as imprinted on my brain, as “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a fortune, must be in want of a wife.”–the opening line of Pride and Prejudice.

Dark Tower 4.5And so it begins, again. I am terribly excited to announce that I am once again reading The Gunslinger by Stephen King. I am reading it in anticipation of The Wind through the Keyhole, or book 4.5 (new!) of the Dark Tower series.

I am eager to return to Midworld, to see Roland and the rest of the ka-tet back together. As quoted in one of my posts (the one connecting 11/22/63 to the Dark Tower series), “in the Stephen King universe, the Dark Tower series is the axle around which his myriad fictional realities rotate,” (Vincent, The Road to the Dark Tower , 195-196). Thus, I am not just returning to Midworld, but am returning to the core of the Stephen King universe, the base of all existences in Stephen King’s writings. The Dark Tower series is the bible for Stephen King readers and is terribly important if one wants to truly understand Stephen King’s writings on a deeper level.

I am listening to the audiobook of this so that I can continue in my hyped-up reading of Bleak House(I just have 200 pages more to read by Monday to catch up!), so I’m enjoying Roland’s story on the way to work, when I wash dishes, shower, etc. It’s a new experience, and I am soaking up George Guidall’s narration.

I am also reading this as the beginning of my participation in Leighanne’s Lit’s The Dark Tower Reading Challenge. For those of you who haven’t signed up for this, you should! There is a prize involved for participants who successfully complete the series–I am offering the first three books in the graphic novel series of The Dark Tower, all brand new and wrapped in plastic! These are really awesome graphic novels that tell of Roland’s earlier years as a young gunslinger, the story that is referenced but never shown in the novels. So, sign up people, it’s an amazing series!

This is also a good time to announce that I will be taking part in The Stephen King Project, the Stephen King Projecthosted by Coffee and a Book Chick and Boarding In My Forties. I will commit to the big one, the fire, the aaaaaaaa-bomb (reference to Trashcan Man from The Stand, if you don’t know), A King for All Seasons, which is 12 books. With all of the books in the Dark Tower series, plus the new one, plus the graphic novels, plus all the books I’ll read for the R.I.P. challenge in the Fall, this should be no problem!

So, until next time, long days and pleasant nights!

Links:

The Road to the Dark Tower: Exploring Stephen King’s Magnum Opus by Bev Vincent

