Bleak House by Charles DickensHey folks! Today and tomorrow, I think I’m going to devote my time and energy to reading! I want to finish Bleak House this weekend, and I am just a little over halfway done. That means I have at least 3-400 pages to go! While I’m at it, I wouldn’t mind making some more headway into The Gunslinger.

So, I’m gonna readathon it! It’ll be a personal readathon, even though I know there’s another readathon going on that I forgot to sign up for. And since I like to keep track of myself when I do readathons, I’ll update here on the blog what my status is. Also, I thought it would be fun to include whatever post-it note I’ve written since my last update (because I write on post-its whenever I am reading so I don’t have to write in the book). Anyways, that’s what I’ll be doing today and tomorrow! Have a great weekend!

Readathon Progress:

-Day/Time: Saturday, 8:00 a.m.

Reading: Bleak House  Bleak House by Charles Dickens

Pages Read Since Last Update: 0

Pages Read Overall: 0

Recent Post-It: How could he love her?-he doesn’t seem to know her! Was something left out?

-Day/Time: Saturday, 10:00 a.m.

Reading: Bleak House

Pages Read Since Last Update: 15 (not much! I have spent the last two hours reading blogs, commenting on blogs, eating tamales (feta and corn, yum!), dawdling, and making a grocery list. I better get on with it!)

Pages Read Overall: 15

Recent Post-It:

-Tulkinghorn + Vhole = truly bad guys

– I like Snagsby–he is such a simp!

– Tulkinghorn is such a misogynist!

– I can’t wait for Tulkinghorn’s downfall.

-Day/Time: Saturday, 12:00 p.m. 1:15 p.m. (oops! took a two-hour nap!)

Reading: Bleak House

Pages Read Since Last Update: 44 p

Pages Read Overall: 59 p

Recent Post-It:

Richard is an idiot.

– Skimpole is lame–worthless and selfish

– Here is Jarndyce’s folly- it’s his fault. He enables Skimpole.

– What a jerk! Leaves his wife and children to deal with his mess! Skimpole = Dickens’ dad.

– Oh no. Here it comes!

-Day/Time: Saturday, 3:30 p.m.

Reading: Bleak House and The Gunslinger (had to go grocery shopping, so I listened to The Gunslinger as I drove!)

Pages Read Since Last Update: 53 p

Pages Read Overall: 112

Recent Post-It:

Bleak House: -Vholes = gross!

– philanthropy!

The Gunslinger:

Whenever I read the Waystation part of The Gunslinger, the cellar scene,  this part:

The groaning rose and fell, becoming louder, until the whole cellar was full of the sound, an abstract noise of ripping pain and dreadful effort. […] There was a hole as big as a coin in the wall now. He could hear, through the curtain of his own terror, Jake’s pattering feet as the boy ran. Then the spill of sand stopped. The groaning ceased, but there was a sound of steady, labored breathing. (122-23)

I anticipate this:

and/or this

-Day/Time: Saturday, 5:30 p.m.

Reading: The Gunslinger (I cooked dinner for the last two hours!)

Pages Read Since Last Update: 44

Pages Read Overall: 156

Recent Post-It:

With The Gunlinger, it has been a lot of

– Oh Yeah!

– Was all of this foreshadowing added in the recent (last 10 years) revisions, or was some of it in the original version? I can’t remember.

-Day/Time: Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

Reading: The Gunslinger (After eating dinner, I baked cookies! The recipe is awesome, though I always cut out the raisins and substitute chocolate chips to make up the difference. Truly, the best oatmeal cookies ever! Here’s the recipe: The Best Oatmeal Cookies Ever…

and Bleak House (I finished baking in the last 30 minutes and returned to Dickens!)

Pages Read Since Last Update:

The Gunslinger: 28 (Past the half-way point!)

Bleak House: 18

Pages Read Overall: 202

Recent Post-It:

The Gunslinger:So much foreshadowing…

Bleak House:

– Oh, he is a weasel!

– I’m not sure that anyone would believe him!

– Ha! Got him! But, by whose hand?

-Day/Time: Saturday, 9:30 p.m.

Reading: Bleak House

Pages Read Since Last Update: 56

Pages Read Overall: 258

Recent Post-It:

First Book Husband!

Mr. Bagnet is the best! It is his wife’s birthday and “that is the greatest holiday and reddest-letter day in Mr. Bagnet’s calendar.” He goes off in the morning and buys two fowls for dinner, returns home and

in a causl manner invites Mrs. Bagnet to declare at breakfast what she would like for dinner. Mrs. Bagnet, by a coincidence never known to fail, replying Fowls, Mr. Bagnet instantly produces his bundle from a place of concealment, amidst general amazement and rejoicing. He further requires that the old girl shall do nothing all day long, but sit in her very best gown, and be served by himself and the young people.

What a wonderful man!

-Creepy. What’s he up to?

– He thinks George shot him!

– Aha!

This will be my last update for today. I will surely be asleep in the next two hours. Next update first thing tomorrow!

