Post-Its When ReadingAlright, so it’s Sunday, the second day of my personal readathon!

Yesterday, I started at 8:00 a.m. and ended around 11:30 p.m. I made progress in two books: The Gunslinger by Stephen King and Bleak House by Charles Dickens. Bleak House was read when I was devoted solely to reading on the couch, while The Gunslinger was listened to while I drove, washed dishes, and cooked. It was a pretty good system that I plan to use today! If you’d like to read my post from yesterday, click here.

The goal is that I finish Bleak House, and it seems likely that I will, as I only have about 150 pages left.

Also, I will post an update every two hours on what I’m reading and how many pages I’ve read. Included in these updates are a few of the notes that I have written on post-its while reading the pages. This is a fun way to share my reading thoughts.

So, enough jabber-jaw…let’s get reading!

Bleak House by Charles Dickens

My first post begins with what I read last night before bed.

Day/Time: Saturday, 11:30 p.m.

Reading: Bleak House

Pages Read: 57 p

Total Pages Read: 315

Recent Post-Its:

Bucket IS good at what he does.

– She still won in the end.

– Connectivity everywhere!

Day/Time: Sunday, 9:00 a.m.

Reading: Bleak House

Pages Read: 92

Today’s Total Pages Read: 92

Weekend’s Total Pages Read: 402

Recent Post-Its:

– Now, I like Bucket! Or respect his abilities, I guess.

– As despicable as the nobility is, I want things to work out for the Dedlocks!

– Too true! Like Downton Abbey!

– Ha! Michael Jackson!

– God, he’s a bastard! Why would Jarndyce consider him a friend?

– It’s believable now, but not before!

Day/Time: Saturday, 11:15 a.m.

Reading: The Gunslinger (listened as I cooked breakfast AND dinner (in the crockpot!)

Pages Read: 37 p

Today’s Total Pages Read: 129

Weekend’s Total Pages Read: 439

Recent Post-Its:

– The narration is good, but I can’t help but feel that my mind does better justice to the characters’ voices than this guy does.

Day/Time: Saturday, 1:15 p.m.

Reading: Bleak House (I finished!) and The Gunslinger (listened as I walked to the local corner store and bought a root beer for this very warm day!)

Pages Read: Bleak House: 51 p

The Gunslinger: 19 p

Today’s Total Pages Read: 199

Weekend’s Total Pages Read: 509

Recent Post-Its:

Bleak House: -I’m so glad things are working out for him!

– Jarndyce is sooo good.

– Yay! More Guppy!

– Ha! Mrs. Guppy is as good as her son!

– What?!

– Ha! A bit melodramatic, but that’s what he gets!

The Gunslinger: – I forgot how awesome the mutant scene was!

– Again, so much foreshadowing. Almost too much!

I will take a reading break for about an hour or two and work on my Bleak House review! Be back here in the evening probably!

Day/Time: Saturday, 6:15 p.m.

Reading: The Gunslinger (I finished!)

Pages Read:

The Gunslinger: 40 p

Today’s Total Pages Read: 239

Weekend’s Total Pages Read: 549

Recent Post-Its:

How much did King add into this?! He basically gives the ending of the whole series away here!

Thus ends my weekend readathon! I accomplished 2X my goal (2 books for 1!) and the experience has been wonderful! I’m done reading for the day as I prepare to eat dinner and watch Midnight in Paris, followed by Downton Abbey!

Long days and pleasant nights, gunslingers!

