The Drawing of the Three by Stephen King Dark Tower 2So, I’ve been sucked into the Dark Tower addiction. I started reading book 2 at the same time as George Bernard Shaw’s Mrs. Warren’s Profession, but by the end of the prologue, I was hooked! Now, I don’t know if I’ll be able to stop!

The Drawing of the Three begins with some of my favorite parts of the Dark Tower series. Instead of simply discussing the opening lines of The Drawing of the Three, as I usually do on Fridays with the books I am currently reading, I thought I would share a few of my favorite things from this book. I’m only a quarter of the way through, but I am delighted all over again with some of the plot elements and the narration by Frank Muller. Here are some of the parts that are tickling my fancy:

The Lobstrocities

The Drawing of the Three opens with Roland laying on a beach in a daze. He’s a little bummed over the choices he made in the last book, The Gunslinger. Suddenly, he is approached by some lobster-like creatures.

The horror was a crawling thing which must have been cast up by a previous wave. It dragged a wet, gleaming body laboriously along the sand. It was about four feet long and about four yards to the right. It regarded Roland with bleak eyes on stalks. Its long serrated beak dropped open and it began to make a noise that was weirdly like human speech: plaintive, even desperate questions in an alien tongue. “Did-a-chick? Dum-a-chum? Dad-a-cham? Ded-a-check?”

He disregards the creature until it attacks him and then he begins a fight for his life with what he later calls a “lobstrocity”.

I love this scene. I’ve always loved this scene and consider the lobstrocities to be one of my all-time favorite King monsters.

The Doors Are So Cool

It was a door. […] It stood six and a half feet high and appeared to be made of solid ironwood, although the nearest ironwood tree must grow seven hundred miles or more from here. The doorknob looked as if it were made of gold, and it was filigreed with a design which the gunslinger finally recognized: it was the grinning face of the baboon.

There was no keyhole in the knob, above it, or below it.

The door had hinges, but they were fastened to nothing. […] This door. This door where no door should be. It simply stood there on the gray strand twenty feet above the high-tide line, seemingly as eternal as the sea itself, now casting the slanted shadow of its thickness toward the east as the sun westered.

It sounds like a normal door–but it’s not! It is standing, free of any building, on the beach! When you walk around to the other side of the door, you no longer see it, as if it disappears. When you lean close to it, you can hear a thrum coming from the other side. This, and the two other doors play a major part in the story, and I just think that they are the coolest!

I would insert a picture here of some art I found on google, but I don’t want to infringe on anyone’s creative license, so check out this link to someone’s awesome artwork of the door.

Frank Muller’s Eddie Narration

I’ve always been a fan of Eddie, the heroin-addicted New Yorker that we first encounter in The Drawing of the Three. However, I am really loving Eddie via Muller’s accented narration for him. I’m not sure whose voice I would compare it to, but it’s wonderful. So far, I am a huge fan of Muller as narrator. He’s doing a great job!

A tooter-fish popkin!

Roland’s Malapropisms and Other Things Lost in Translation

Roland comes from a different world than ours. So, when he begins to encounter our world in The Drawing of the Three, he doesn’t recognize the words we use for a lot of things, and sometimes supplants his own interpretations. A few of my favorites are:

-tuna fish sandwich = tooter-fish popkin, as in “the gunslinger had no idea what tooter-fish was, but he knew a popkin when he saw it, although this one looked curiously uncooked.”

-rustle vs. russel

She gave him a professional smile. “I’ll see what I can rustle up.”

Russel? the gunslinger thought dazedly. In his own world to russel was a slang verb meaning to take a woman by force. Never mind.

-aspirin and astin

For whatever reason, Roland simply cannot say “aspirin”! It’s astin.

Roland’s Idea of Clearing Customs at JFK Airport

He must Clear the Customs, the gunslinger thought.

The answer was so large and simple, so close to him that he very nearly did not see it at all. It was the drug the prisoner meant to smuggle in that would make Clearing the Customs so difficult, of course; there might be some sort of Oracle who might be consulted in the cases of people who seemed suspicious. Otherwise, Roland gleaned, the Clearing ceremony would be simplicity itself, as crossing a friendly border was in his own world. One made the sign of fealty to that kingdom’s monarch–a simple token gesture–and was allowed to pass.

This just amuses me.

So, needless to say, I am thoroughly enjoying The Drawing of the Three, and am very excited that we’re getting the ka-tet back together, starting with Eddie Dean. Two more to go!

