This was a tough one, as it’s hard to choose between them all. At the same time, they’re just things, and many I have already read. If they burned up, they’d still be stored up in my memory, much like the rebels at the end of Fahrenheit 451.

So, I chose based upon whether or not I could replace them and/or their sentimental value. Here’s what I came up with:

First, I would have to save my antique books. I’m so lucky that my dad knows that I love antique books–when he can’t think of a Christmas gift, he sometimes buys me a new antique book!

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

2. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

3. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley (beautiful book from 1902)

Next are my books that might be hard to replace because they were signed.

4. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

A Dance with Dragons

5. A Song of Ice and Fire series (A Dance with Dragons is signed) by George R.R. Martin

6. American Gods by Neil Gaiman

A very underrated set of books are my anthologies from college, which are filled with footnotes and my own personal notes. Surely, these are irreplaceable!

Norton Anthology of English Literature volume 1

7. The Norton Anthology of English Literature: Volumes 1 and 2

Norton Anthology of English Literature volume 2

8. The Riverside Shakespeare (it has everything!)

9. Folk and Fairy Tales (for some reason, I sold

this book after I finished the class, and it was so

hard to find to buy again!)

10. The last book that I would grab would be whatever I was currently reading…there might be a lot of down time while I deal with the mess of house fire. Gotta finish my current read!

