Recently, I was looking at my shelves on Goodreads and was surprised by the sheer amount of fantasy novels I have read or want to read. I have never really noticed what a huge fan of the genre I am, and I guess I have been for a really long time. Here are my favorites books and serials in the genre, most of which are pretty much everyone’s favorites.

the hobbit

1. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

2. The Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien

3. The Kingkiller Chronicle series (written so far: The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear) by Patrick Rothfuss

A Game of Thrones Song of Ice and Fire George R.R. Martin

4. A Song of Ice and Fire series (five written, two more to go. Hopefully, they’ll be published before the end of this decade!) by George R.R. Martin

The Gunslinger audiobook by stephen king

5. The Dark Tower series by Stephen King

6. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll

7. American Gods by Neil Gaiman

8. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

9. The Talisman and Black House by Stephen King and Peter Straub

10. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

What Is Glaringly Absent from This List:

Here are some books I am most definitely planning on reading, as I believe they are essential for any fan of the fantasy genre.

1. The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan

2. His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman

3. Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

4. The Discworld series by Terry Pratchett

5. Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind

6. The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley

7. The Earthsea Cycle by Ursula. K Le Guin

