Spring is here, and I’ve already started my spring reading, but I’m pretty excited because Spring Break is right around the corner, and, being a teacher at a year-round school, I get the entire month of April off! That’s a whole lot of time for reading and blogging! Last year, I read 28 books during Spring Break. Woot! So, here are ten of the books that I’m most looking forward to reading in the spring.

Wizard and Glass by Stephen King; The Dark Tower

1. Re-reads of The Dark Tower series–Wizard and Glass, The Wolves of the Calla, and The Dark Tower graphic novel series

 The Wolves of the Calla by Stephen King; Dark Tower

I’m trying to read a book per month from this series, and these are the books slated to be read before June!

2. The Wind through the Keyhole by Stephen King

 Dark Tower 4.5

To be released in late April, I can’t wait to see what was going on with the Ka-Tet that was so important that King had to release an entirely new novel to fit between Wizard and Glass and The Wolves of the Calla. This ought to be good!

3. The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer and/or The Forsyte Saga by John Galsworthy

The Forsyte Saga

These are both very long books, and I can’t yet decide which one I want to read for my classic in April. The Canterbury Tales is a re-read, but it can be very difficult. The Forsyte Saga is long, but very engaging, something that might be more useful in the hot summer months. Not sure yet, but I know that I’ll enjoy both.

4. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley or The Iliad by Homer

Again,The Iliad I can’t decide which one I want to read in May. The Iliad can be difficult, so it all depends upon how much brain power I have available in May. I’m not even sure that I want to read Brave New World, but it is certainly easier than The Iliad.

Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

5. Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

Man, the Sookie books have been disappointing in the last two years, but that doesn’t mean I’m giving up on the series. I always read the new book in May, and this year won’t be any different. I have to see what’s going on in Bon Temps.

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

6. Insurgent by Veronica Roth

I read Divergent in December, and liked it. I can’t turn my back on a series…I’ll see what happens next.

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

7. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides or The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon

One or both of these will be read in the spring. Don’t know yet which one it will be.

8. Re-reads of The Walking Dead graphic novel series by Robert Kirkman

I need to refresh my memory on this series, and then pick up where I left off with the comics! Last time I read, I was at a major cliffhanger! It’s been months since I left off.

9. Continued reading of Locke & Key graphic novel series by Joe Hill

I only read the first three volumes in February, and I loved them. I need to keep going before I forget, like I did with The Walking Dead!

The Portable Dorothy Parker

10. Continued reading of The Portable Dorothy Parker

I’ll probably be reading this all year, but that doesn’t mean I’m not always looking forward to the next short story, poem, or essay offered in this collection.

