Everything in my brain is coming out in pauses. My thinking has been stunted from little sleep. So, I’m not going to write much here.

I had something already planned and written out to post today, but I’m really out of it, so I’ll probably post it tomorrow.

Why am I so tired? Because….

I finally caught up on Season Two of Game of Thrones last night! It was a late night viewing with a friend who is starting the graveyard shift tonight at her new job! Good luck Leigh! Speaking of this graveyard shift, we all, of course, groan when we think of working the hellish hours of 11pm to 7am, five days a week. But, Leigh doesn’t have it too bad. Guess what she does…

You can’t guess how wonderful her late-night job is, so I’ll just tell you:

SHE WORKS IN A KITTEN NURSERY!!!

So, she spends the wee hours of the night/morning caring for little orphan kitties who mew all night and need cuddles and milk and love! It’s a lot of this:

Cute kitten

and this

Another cute kitten

and this

Another kitten

but truly it is this:

only it’s in San Diego.

So, to help her get used to her new late-night schedule, I proposed that we watch the first two episodes of Game of Thrones at 10:00 last night. Except, that I’m always tardy, so I got there around 10:30. Then, we had one of our lovely pre-watching discussions, recapping where we last left off, and what can be expected from the first two episodes.

We started around 11 or so, and it was good! I was very satisfied! I loved the new additions to the map in the opening credits (episode one included Dragonstone and episode 2 included Pyke). They changed the order of events a bit in the first episode, but it stayed true to the book for the most part. Of course, some sex was interpolated, but not as much as the second episode! I don’t mind all of the sex, it adds a bit of color to the Westeros world, but I’m sure a lot of viewers were disgusted by it. As long as the show is true to the story, and as long as Tyrion continues to rock it like he does, I’m happy!

And Joffrey…that SOB (ha! literally in this case!)…he is such a little…I love Joffrey’s character. I love to hate him. He is so very, very awful. And the kid who plays him is ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! I love shaking my fist at the TV and growling his name. Last night, in episode 1, I especially loved my first re-introduction to this little asshole via this scene, which also is our reunion with Tyrion and (ugh) Sansa:

Leigh and I kept wondering about and pitying the viewers that watch the show without ever having read the books. How do they possibly know who these new characters are and where they are? I personally love the lack of set-up and exposition in each scene, as I have read the books and come fully prepared with all of the necessary history and back stories needed for each scene. But, episode one zooms right in on Stannis and Melissandre and Dragonstone without even so much as a subtitle explaining where they are. I wonder if viewers are able to figure it out from the little bits they get from the scenes. Do they even remember Stannis being discussed in Season One, when Neddard Stark discusses him with Renly and others? Do they remember Renly?

Even I am having trouble remembering some of the details not shown on the show, so (of course) I am adding yet another book to my Currently Reading list. Geez, where am I at now? Seven books? Egads, I’ll never finish any of them with this kind of fractured focus.

It doesn’t matter…I’m reading A Clash of Kings again, the only book in the series that I didn’t re-read last year in anticipation of the publication of A Dance with Dragons. That’s probably what I’m going to be doing today…reading about 210 pages of that.

I’m starting to wake up now, but this is it for me today. I’ve got a lot of reading to do!

Post Script: On a GOT-related note, when I googled “Game of Thrones” for adding my links, I saw this Forbes article come up: Will the ‘Game of Thrones’ TV Series Overtake the Novels?  Uh…NO. I haven’t read the article yet, but my hackles are up anyway. No. What are you talking about, Forbes? Don’t be ridiculous. Good attention-grabbing title though.

